top of page

The reality of being an artist on this planet



“Waw! Is that your artwork?” said Rose’s friend. “Hum, you should have your own art gallery in London.” That’s what Rose and her friend said. They came with a lovely smile on their faces and changed my mood after a very long week of cleaning a storeroom just to make it look like an art place, with some old and new friends.


I felt so depressed, exhausted with a serious headache and tired, but the spirit of hope was standing beside me. I expected about 20 visitors from over 100 invited, but guess what? None of these people I invited came, but one called to say, “sorry I couldn’t make it.”


After a lot of failure, it is time to take a break. I had an invitation to do an auction at the polo show but because nothing didn’t really plan, I didn’t know what to do. I still wanted to surprise Mark King with a visit, but I end up surprising myself by sticking in the place with basically 3 or 4 unknown visitors with great spirits. Everything happens for a reason.


I spoke to them about my mission, and why I am pushing with these shows, trying to sell the work. Most of the money from sales I send to Brigue, a mountain village in Haiti with no running water and no electricity, to support the young children there with school fees, uniforms and art supplies. Many of them will not be able to leave the village, let alone Haiti, to find a better life, so I am using my good fortune to help them. It is exhausting, but I am hoping to return to Haiti to see them soon.


One of my spiritual mentors, Broderick Stephen Harvey, who you might know by his artist’s name Steve Harvey, taught me a lot about the reality of the art life. Art was never about the quality of your products or what you can do. Art is all about who you know, who is really with you, why they are with you and how much can you put on their tables.


After about four art shows in different countries, nothing has sold. So, all of that is some kind of sign to tell me switch my gun shoulders. It is time to leave the arts world and focus on my farm project maybe. I am facing the reality and we do have a saying Haitian creole language Chen pa al kay bôs tayè, meaning dogs don’t visit tailors, because they already know there is no food there.


Chen gen 4 pye men il paka mache nan 4 chemen means dogs have four feet but can only run in one road. I referred to myself because yesterday I really wanted to go to see the polo show, but I couldn’t leave my own show and no one offered to stay for me so I could just show my face at the polo show. I am learning more and more and more about the reality of being an artist on this planet.


My exhibition continues until 13 August 2023, open daily 11 am to 8 pm at 175 Caledonian Road N1 0SL.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page